Red Light

Another shot that has long been on my ‘to do’ list was Roxanne by The Police. The red light essential because the song mentions it so many times! However, I always thought an actual red light in the shot was too obvious and was a bit stuck. I decided to just get on with it and booked the gorgeous, bubbly and bright “April Blue” and told her what I was trying to do.

I have to admit, the idea of a red bulb in an overhead light was hers. She also suggested the book giving our heroine prostitute an intellect and possible hope for the future. I love how these projects develop with collaboration. I decided the overhead camera angle gave a voyeuristic sense to the final image.

The processing was all me however! I wanted a seedy feel for sure but also a 70’s contrasty saturated look. Sting wrote the song in Paris and I wanted to create that feel. I think the song offers hope, an escape from lower times so the image is not intended to be a totally desolate one.

Red-Light-1548_tn

About squashimagery

Uber cool photographer bloke!!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

