Cut Jezebelle (NSFW)

I had the pleasure of working with and photographing Emily a.k.a. Jezebelle at my home last week. She is a truly lovely person who knows her craft and genuinely enjoys collaborating to get the best from a simple idea.

I had in mind a shot for my ‘Lyric’ project that is forever ongoing and probably will remain unfinished until I am no longer here. The idea was to combine a domestic (in this case kitchen) setting with a lovely girl whose attire and look would suggest she would normally be in a different room in the house! The lyric – “It’s always tease, tease, tease; you’re happy when I’m on my knees” (from The Clash – Should I stay or should I go) to me, relates to someone who is being led on. Someone not in control of a relationship. Being played or used and uncertain whether to end it or continue to suffer.

For the shot I wanted a classy look and feel but Emily to be giving it the full ‘come on’ look. Desirable and appealing. However, the lyric, suggests that all is not as it seems. The subject may look sexy and alluring but she is ‘teasing’ and using the viewer. She is in control and therefore holds the power. The setting was deliberate. Make of it what you will…

Emily-7934_tn

The next shot was very roughly in my head before the shoot. The setting is very geometrical and straight lined. The sofa and the picture behind. I knew when booking Emily that she has the amazing hair you see here. In my head, triangular. The idea was to ask Em to mirror her hair line with her arms and at her suggestion, the legs could do this too! The shot itself is very interesting and in my eyes works well. The short focal length of the lens (17mm) makes the legs slightly out of proportion with the rest of the body, layering the angles and triangles. The picture behind, best seen at full resolution, contains circular metal discs. So, to me, we have right angles, triangular angles and circles; it therefore seemed natural to me to accentuate this by creating a slightly more chaotic feel to the otherwise uniform and geometrical image. The brain and eyes want to create order but the ‘strips’ are displaced enough to make this difficult although it is clear what it is. Em being nude removes any distraction clothes might make.

Maybe I overthink these things but regardless, I like it and ultimately, that’s all that matters I guess!

Emily-7980a_tn

About squashimagery

Uber cool photographer bloke!!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

