Grants and Funding….

Have you ever had such a great idea that you are driven to see it through to the end? Well me neither until now….

Here I am, after having a busy week doing things I shouldn’t have been and now I have spent a solid day researching and getting no-where, I kinda wished I had stayed in my snuggly bed!

On Friday last I spent the morning taking ‘condition’ photographs of a local hotel for the owner. This was a simple but time consuming job that simply meant shooting each room from every aspect, inside and out so that images could be lodged with a lawyer as to the current condition of the premises. All this means that absolutely no processing could be done and that each image was available at max resolution.

This job was finished by Tuesday and then we hot footed it to our gorgeous friends up in Twyford in Bucks to finalise our plans for our VW T5 Conversion with Lyall and Dan from  Three Bridge Campers. Those guys are genius and we just can’t wait to get our “Poppy” back ready for full on Camping! We will post her new look when we have her back in May!

Yesterday it was up to Focus on Imaging in Birmingham at the NEC to see what was new in the world of photography. Interestingly, there were many new models and kit on show but for once, I wasn’t hankering after too much! I did get the opportunity to meet the new President of the Royal Photographic Society, Mr Roy Robertson. It was a pleasure to have the chance to discuss the future of the RPS after I had encountered so much negativity and darn-right rudeness from certain levels within the Society in recent weeks.  Mr Robertson gave up 30 minutes of his time and a cup of well earned tea to discuss his vision and aims and although we didn’t agree on everything, I have no doubts that under his leadership, the RPS will thrive and grow and start out on the path it needs to tread in order become the force it really should be during this most golden of hours (pardon the pun) of photographic history.

The show itself saw me briefly consider my coveted latest desire, a 400mm f2.8 monster lens, but I easily dismissed the idea due to cost and upcoming van conversion. Everything else on offer was not necessary or not of high enough priority. The Canon EOS 5D Mark III seems interesting to me but mostly only for the new focusing system and that in itself is not enough to warrant the £2k price difference between my current 5D II and the newer model…yet!

Today I have been trawling the interweb for grants, corporate sponsorship, and general ideas on how to take my latest project global (or at least national). I need to raise around £35k to complete the project and then a large amount more to take it around the country in a series of exhibitions and finally to print in a large format book. Finding somewhere for advice, assistance and support immediately sounds relatively easy until you encounter that oft difficult word, detail. As soon as you apply for an Arts Council Grant (who, incidentally, have been extremely helpful) you realise how much detail you require and I, currently, do not have all the necessary information to hand. It will likely take many months to get to the right plan to take this forward which is massively frustrating as I really just want to get on with the art itself, the taking of the pictures.

I have long realised that to get the volume of subjects I need will require extensive press advertising and therefore cost and I have already constructed an advert ready to print, I just need the funds available to take the next steps!

One thing is for sure though and that is when you know you have an idea that is worth pursuing, you shouldn’t just let it die because you encounter immediate difficulties. It is just a symptom of the old adages that nothing ever comes easy and all good things are worth fighting for!

Django the new and gorgeous Puppy in artist Jill Preston's world!

About squashimagery

Uber cool photographer bloke!!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

